Black Sea Economic Co-operation

Black Sea Economic Co-operation\

On 25 June 1992, the Heads of State and Government of eleven countries: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Turkey and Ukraine signed in Istanbul the Summit Declaration and the Bosphorus Statement giving birth to the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC).

It came into existence as a unique and promising model of multilateral political and economic initiative aimed at fostering interaction and harmony among the Member States, as well as to ensure peace, stability and prosperity encouraging friendly and good-neighbourly relations in the Black Sea region.

The BSEC Headquarters – the Permanent International Secretariat of the Organization of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (BSEC PERMIS) – was established in March 1994 in Istanbul.

With the entry into force of its Charter on 1 May 1999, BSEC acquired international legal identity and was transformed into a full-fledged regional economic organization: ORGANIZATION OF THE BLACK SEA ECONOMIC COOPERATION. With the accession of Serbia and Montenegro in April 2004, the Organization’s Member States increased to twelve.

Serbia will hold the Chairmanship of BSEC for the period July-December 2016.



Topic Area A: Promoting the role of Small and Medium – sized Enterprises (SMEs) in international markets. The importance of providing guarantee funds, promoting dialogue on e-commerce and enhancing customs matters cooperation in the Black Sea Region

Topic Area B: Strengthening the cooperation in the area of food security and food safety standards emphasizing on the environmental sustainability of the agricultural production


The composition of the Council of Ministers is:

Chairman-in-Office: Kalliroi Tzivra (also representing Serbia)
Secretary General: Orestis Lagouvardos-Kotronis

Country First Name Last Name
Albania Vasiliki Stavroulaki
Armenia Vasileios Lamis
Austria * Styliani Laskou
Azerbaijan Eirini Sakellari
Bulgaria Maria Eirini Tasou
Egypt * Charalampos Sotirios Kastritis
Georgia Androniki Paragyiou
Germany * Maria-Paraskevi Kapotsi
Greece Artemis Styliadou
International Network of SMEs * Pavlos Ferlachidis
Iran* Stratigoula Giannakopoulou
Israel * Kalomoira Politi
Italy * Nikoleta Zachariadou
Moldava Christos Poulkas
Poland * Eleni Arampatzi
Romania Alexandros Pantelakos
Russia Iason Chalkidis
Turkey Ioannis Maniatakos
Ukraine Tatiana Goudas
USA * Fotios Tegopoulos